Swimming news

Katie Ledecky won the 200-meter freestyle – USA Winter National Swimming Championships 2018

Katie Ledecky won the 200-meter freestyle - USA Winter National Swimming Championships 2018
Image source :- mashable.com

Katie Ledecky won the 200-meter freestyle Friday night at the U.S.A. Swimming Winter National Championships. Katie Ledecky finished in 1 minute 55.32 seconds, more than two seconds ahead of Manuel (1:57.92).

“I was happy with my time,” Ledecky said. “It’s a good starting point for the season, and I was happy with how I swam it. I will have a lot of good takeaways and a lot of things I can improve on.”  On the Opening Day of the competition, Ledecky won the 800 free,  and took the 400 free at next night. at the 2016 Rio Olympics She won gold medals in the 200, 400 and 800 freestyle events.

“We do 200 free work every Thursday morning together,” Ledecky said. “It’s the one practice where we are doing the same thing. It’s always fun to have somebody like that who’s really competitive, driven, and is going for the same goals. We’re on pretty similar schedules, and it has been a lot of fun this fall to train with her and be in the same boat as far as meet plans, schedules and training.”

Vollmer, 31, who has won five gold medals in the Olympics, won the bronze medal in the 100 fly in Rio but has not competed in the event since. She is also the mother of two children, one of them born after Rio.

“I took some time away and focused on routines with two kids and figuring out why I still love the sport,” Vollmer said. “I think that’s something that all athletes go through, rediscovering what your passion is and why you push your body as hard as you do. It’s about coordinating things now and finding a babysitter who wants to come to my house at 4 o’clock in the morning so I can go to practice.”

Other event winners Friday night:

  1. Madyson Cox (women’s 400 individual medley)
  2. Jay Litherland (men’s 400 I.M.)
  3. Giles Smith (men’s 100 fly)
  4. Jacob Pebley (men’s 200 free)
  5. Micah Sumrall (women’s 100 breaststroke)
  6. Nic Fink (men’s 100 breast)
  7. Kyle Masse (women’s 100 backstroke)
  8. Christopher Reid (men’s 100 back).

Read Full Story at : nytimes

Join Us:-



Google Plus






About the author

Sanuj Srivastava

Hello everyone ! myself Sanuj Srivastava, I'm a National swimmer and Computer Olympiad winner. I'm working on writing articles for competitive swimming. If you have some problem in swimming that needs some creative injection then that’s where I come in!
My aim is to bring across your message and identity in the most creative way.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.